EDGE Lacrosse


Edge Announcement- Brent Noseworthy
October 2, 2013, 9:50 pm
Filed under: Current News

Congratulations to Brent Noseworthy (Edge 2015) on his recent commitment to attend Cornell University in the fall of 2014!  Brent began playing lacrosse at the age of four and is a product of the Burlington Minor Lacrosse Association.  The 6’3, 195lbs, midfielder has been a dominant player for our Edge program.  He is able to take face-offs, create fast breaks, use his big body to set picks and finish in tight around the net.  “Nosey does it all.  He is one of the most complete midfielders that I’ve ever seen.  His combination of size, defensive ability, overall skill and worth ethic on top of his strong ability in the face off ‘X’ will help him be a contributing factor at Cornell for years to come” said Edge Coach Marc Burton.  Although Brent is a middie on the field, he actually prefers playing goalie when it comes to box.  Brent is currently the starting goalie for the Oakville Buzz Jr.B club.  We would like to wish Brent the best of luck down at Cornell and have no doubt that he will be successful with the Big Red!

Untitled

Brent Noseworthy at Adrenaline Blackcard Event

Check out Brent’s Highlight Video

We had a chance to catch up with brent.

Where did you first begin playing lacrosse? Where are you currently enrolled/playing? Feel free to mention any previous lacrosse teams/clubs
I first began playing box lacrosse at the age of four and began playing field lacrosse at the age of eight. I grew up playing minor lacrosse for the Burlington Chiefs both box and field. Currently I play box lacrosse as a goalie for the Jr. B Oakville Buzz, and field lacrosse for Edge Elite 2015.
Why did you choose to attend Cornell?

I choose to attend Cornell University for a variety of reasons. When I first stepped on campus, it immediately felt like a perfect fit. The balance between the elite academics and the excellent lacrosse program instantly gained my interest. Under Coach DeLuca’s lead, I am confident I will prosper not only as a lacrosse player, but also as an individual.

 
What are you looking forward to most at Cornell??

I am most looking forward to have the opportunity to play with and against some of the best lacrosse players in the country. I am looking forward to competing to win an Ivy League Championship as well as an NCAA Championship while representing the Big Red.

What are your future ambitions beyond NCAA lax?

Beyond lacrosse, I would like to become a successful businessman by using the skills developed and learned in Cornell’s Applied Economics and Management course. I would also like to spread the game of lacrosse around the world. Particularly in nations filled with poverty, by teaching the sport to under privileged children.

 
Can you provide some insight into your experience with EDGE, when did you join the program? How did you hear about the program?

I first joined the Edge Lacrosse program in the summer of my freshman year. Since then, I have had nothing but positive things to say about the program. Edge Lacrosse gives Canadian athletes exposure to American Colleges and Universities and works individually with each athlete to help them reach their goal. I heard about the program, from the tight knit lacrosse community and from my peers who have recently committed to the schools of their dreams through the Edge program.

 
What advice do you have for any future EDGE players about the recruitment process?

First and foremost, make sure you put in the time and effort in the classroom. Secondly, target the schools you would like to attend and reach out to them via email or phone. Do not ever underestimate yourself and cross-schools off your list because you feel you are not good enough. Dream big, work hard and your goals can be accomplished. Remember, the only one holding you back, is you.

nosey

Brent Noseworthy

Best/Favourite memory playing with EDGE?

My favorite memory as a lacrosse player would have to be the Gait Cup Tournament. It’s a great team bonding experience, as well as a highly competitive tournament. Also, another great memory I have had while representing the Edge Lacrosse program would be meeting new teammates and gaining friendships that will last a lifetime.

 

Describe the type of lacrosse player you are, who did you look up to growing up? Who would you compare yourself to now?

I consider myself to be a player who brings a box lacrosse style to field lacrosse. I like to set picks, rolls, and work off ball. I also like to push fast breaks off the faceoff. Growing up, I admired Paul Rabil. He is a fast, strong midfield who can put the ball in the net.

 

Feel free to include any shout-outs, special thanks.

Thanks to all my friends, family, coaches and teammates for the support. Most importantly, thanks to the Edge program and my parents who have helped turn my dream into a reality.


Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a comment