EDGE Lacrosse


EDGE Announcement – Julie Cryderman
February 23, 2012, 3:59 pm
Filed under: 1, Current News, EDGE Girls Elite

Congratulations to Julie Cryderman (Edge – Women’s) on her commitment to attend the University at Albany in September 2012! Cryderman, a 5’8 middie from Bowmanville,Ontario is a versatile player, having played defence, midfield and attack for Team Canada at the 2011 World Championships. Julie enjoyed a memorable World Championship tournament helping Canada finish as the Bronze medal champion, scoring 3 goals in the final game, and also being named Canada’s player of the game in the semi final vs.Australia. Julie was also a key member of Oshawa Lady Blue Knights where her team went on to win 6 Provincial Championships from 2004-2011.

Selected as the MVP for St.Stephen’s Secondary School in 2009 and 2010, Cryderman helped her team capture the LOSSA B Championship! Julie will be joining a strong lacrosse program at U of Albany. In 2011, the UAlbany women’s lacrosse team finished with a final season record of 18-1 and were crowned America East Conference Champions, and entered the NCAA Championship tournament ranked #8, heading into 2012, the UAlbany program is currently ranked #16. We look forwarding to following Julie’s career in the NCAA as she hopes to continue her successful and accomplished lacrosse and academic career. Best of luck Julie!!

We had a chance to speak with Julie about her experience with Edge, the recruiting process and advice to future Edge athletes.

Where did you first begin playing lacrosse?

JC – I began playing for the Oshawa Lady Blue Knights House League Program when I was 8 years old.

Where are you currently playing?

JC – I currently play for Oshawa Lady Blue Knights U19 Team. I just recently played for Team Canada in Germany at the World Championships where I earned a Bronze medal. I also Captain my high school team St. Stephen’s Secondary School. This past fall I played for Team Edge and competed in Maryland and Florida .

Why did you choose to attend Albany?

JC – I chose Albany because I was impressed with their Coaching Staff, I liked what I saw in their practices, and the school seem to be the best fit for me all around.

What are you looking forward to most at Albany?

JC – I am looking forward to the progress I will make as an individual and I am excited to see how well the team progresses.

What are your future ambitions beyond NCAA lax?

JC – My future ambitions are to continue playing the best lacrosse I can, trying out for Senior Women’s Lacrosse, and possibly coaching. I also look forward to getting a great Education at Albany .

Can you provide some insight into your experience with EDGE, when did you join the program? How did you hear about the program?

JC – I have played Edge for the past 2 years. I joined Edge for the Fall Season of 2011 and 2012 as I was beginning my College search and knew that Edge would provide me with great opportunities to showcase my skill set.

What advice do you have for any future EDGE players about the recruitment process?

JC – It is important to be persistent, make phone calls, follow up on all emails and visit as many schools as you can in order to find the perfect fit for you.

 Favourite memory playing with EDGE?

JC – My favourite memory with Team Edge was when I was on the 2011 Team and we went to Florida and won that tournament. We had an excellent team and the playoffs were very exciting to be a part of.

Describe the type of lacrosse player you are, who did you look up to growing up? Who would you compare yourself to now?

JC – I am a player that anticipates very well, has great field sense and vision. I do a lot of the little things that don’t always show up in the stat sheet but make my team better. For instance, getting the ball out of my zone, getting it to the right people, slowing the ball down in transition, making the pass that leads to the other pass that results in a goal and coming up with key ground balls. I am a two way player and like to have possession of the ball.

Growing up, I looked up to Kristen Miller (Vermont 2005-2009) – she was a great player and individual that I was equally excited to be Coached by one season winning a Provincial Championship under her leadership.

Any shout-outs, or special thanks you’d like to mention?

JC – I have a number of key influencers in my lacrosse career … my parents Ralph and Mickey Cryderman who have and still do support me and push me to always be and do the best that I can – academically, physically, socially, and mentally.

My siblings, all athletes, that encourage and support me always – Adam, Jana, and Marsha.

Ms. Barb Boyes the Executive Director of the Oshawa Lady Blue Knights … a strong advocate of womans lacrosse and building a class act organization from the ground roots up. She has encouraged and supported me the last 9 years and I have branched out for her in the organization volunteering as a Coach, Umpire and mentor to young girls.

Ms. Jess Lee – Team Edge Coach and mentor to me and my sister for the past 6 years.

Ms. Les Maybury & Ms. Liane Chornobay – my very first Lady Blue Knight Rep Coaches that took us to a Provincial Championship. I still have my first little wooden stick I used that year!

Other Blue Knight Coaches and Team Canada Alumni that influenced me are: Kristen Miller, Christine Comeau, Katie Illot, and Kendal Boyd.

Team Canada Coaches Scott Teeter, Scott Tucker, Kateri Linville and Tammy Rayner.


Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a comment